What is the tornado hit?

A tornado is a violently rotating column of air, in contact with the ground, either pendant from a cumuliform cloud or underneath a cumuliform cloud, and often visible as a funnel cloud. To be classified as a tornado, the vortex must be in contact with both the ground and the cloud base.