How long can you leave chicken out on the counter?

Normal room temperature falls in the "danger zone" for food storage, as defined by the US FDA. They recommend that, for best safety, food can remain at this temperature for no more than 2 hours. If your room is over 90 degrees Fahrenheit, you should reduce this to 1 hour maximum.