What is the black american flag mean?

The black American flag first appeared during the American Civil War of 1861-1865. Confederate army soldiers flew the black flag to symbolize the opposite of the white flag of surrender. The black flag meant that the unit would not give in nor surrender and that enemy combatants would be killed.