Are glow worms real?

The glow worm isn't a worm at all, but the larvae or maggot of a mosquito-like fly. Only three glow worms have been described in Australia . Arachnocampa flava is a species endemic to Queensland. ... The glow worms emit a pale light which attracts insects toward the sticky threads of their snare.