Why do moths like lights?

Like a moth to a flame, er, lamp, insects are drawn to bright lights because they confuse the animals' navigational systems. Especially in the summertime: moths and other insects gather around lights like lamps. Often, creatures entranced in such a glow get eaten by predators or overheat.