What does a. n. w. root beer stand for?

"A” stands for Allen & “W” stands for Wright - the two founders of A&W Root Beer.

---

A&W Root Beer is a root beer brand primarily available in the United States and Canada that was founded in 1919 by Roy W. Allen. When Allen partnered with Frank Wright in 1922, the partners combined their initials to create the A&W brand.