What makes the holes in swiss cheese?

One of the types of bacteria used to create Swiss Cheese, releases carbon dioxide as they ferment the cheese. This is similar to how champagne gets bubbles in it. The actual size of the holes can be controlled by acidity, temperature, and aging times.