What is the brightest thing in the universe?

A violent explosion in a galaxy seven billion light-years away has broken the record for the brightest source of high-energy light in the Universe. The gamma ray burst (GRB), now known as GRB 190114C, was detected on 14 January 2019.

---

A gamma ray burst these are extremely bright and are lethal for a long way. Close behind these are supernova which will turn night to day.

---

Although quasars appear faint when viewed from Earth, they are visible from extreme distances, being the most luminous objects in the known universe. The brightest quasar in the sky is 3C 273 in the constellation of Virgo.