What's a dry riverbed called?

An arroyo also called a wash, is a dry creek, stream bed or gulch that temporarily or seasonally fills and flows after sufficient rain. ... Arroyos provide a water source to desert animals. The desert dry wash biome is restricted to the arroyos of the southwestern United States.