Is a skunk a member of the weasel family?

Skunks are North and South American mammals in the family Mephitidae. While related to polecats and other members of the weasel family, skunks have as their closest Old World relatives the stink badgers.

---

Historically, skunks have also been included in Mustelidae, which includes species of ferrets, polecats, badgers, martens, otters, the wolverine and weasels among others, but genetic analyses suggest that they belong to a separate family of their own (Mephitidae).