What is a burlesque dancer?

Burlesque dance combines elements of theater, comedy, satire, music, and adult entertainment. Most Burlesque dancers are female, but some are male.

---

Traditionally, burlesque is a type of variety show that is both provocative and comedic. It integrates striptease with a bit of Vaudeville, comedy sketches, live vintage music, and singing. A burlesque dancer does elaborate dance routines, dressed in erotic period costumes from the 19th century.