Are fireworks flat?

from another user JR: When a typical aerial firework shell explodes, it does so in a spherical shape. however some shells explode in a flat shape, such as those that appear as rings , hearts, or stars, etc., These shells can appear as a line in the sky when viewed from certain angles,