When did the cabbage patch craze stsrt?

At the peak of their popularity, between 1983 and 1986, Cabbage Patch dolls were a must-have toy for Christmas. The height of Cabbage Patch Kids craze was Christmas, 1983. Stores were mobbed; people trampling each other to get their hands on the dolls.