What is shave and a haircut two bits?

"Shave and a Haircut" and the associated response "two bits" is a 7-note musical call and responsecouplet, riff or fanfare popularly used at the end of a musical performance, usually for comic effect. It is used both melodically and rhythmically, for example as a door knock.