What is it mean when the moon is waxing?

A waxing moon is any phase of the moon during the lunar cycle between the new moon and the full moon. A waxing moon is one, that is getting larger each night. The lunar cycle is a period of about 29 days, as the moon's shape seems to change from our vantage point on Earth.

---

A waxing moon is transitioning from a new moon to a full moon. Alternatively, a waning moon follows the full moon, as it transition back toward a new moon.