What is the difference between a yellow onion and a spanish onion?

Yellow onions have a balance of astringency and sweet in their flavor, becoming sweeter the longer they cook. They are usually fist-sized with fairly a fairly tough outer skin and meaty layers. Spanish onions are a particular kind of yellow onion and slightly sweeter and more delicate in flavor.