Where should you mount a carbon monoxide detector?

Because carbon monoxide is slightly lighter than air and also because it may be found with warm, rising air, detectors should be placed on a wall about 5 feet above the floor. The detector may be placed on the ceiling. Do not place it right next to or over a fireplace or flame-producing appliance.