Who has the fastest mile time?

The fastest male mile world record holder is Hicham El Guerrouj from Morocco at 3 minutes 43.13 seconds. The fastest female mile world record holder is Sifan Hassan of The Netherlands at 4 minutes 12.33 seconds.