Why do cats have stripes?

Geneticists recently discovered a gene in domesticated cats that results in those trademark feline tabby stripes. The gene, Dkk4, produces a “pre-pattern” of thick and thin skin on the developing cat embryo that ends up mapping the pattern of stripes on the cat's fur later.