Where does the term jump the shark come from?

The idiom "jumping the shark" was coined in 1985 by Jon Hein in response to a 1977 episode from the fifth season of the American sitcom Happy Days, in which Fonzie jumps over a shark while on water-skis.

---

It comes from a Happy Days episode where the Fonz literally jumped a shark while on water skis. The episode was late in the series run and was promoted to bring in ratings