Who is scruff mcgrath?

Scruff McGruff, known as the crime dog, is an anthropomorphic animated blood hound who was introduced in 1980, to increase crime awareness and personal safety in the United States. McGruff the crime dog is often pictured with the saying, “take a bite out of crime.”