Who is the astronaut day bowman?

Dr. David Bowman is a fictitious astronaut and central character in the film 2001: A Space Odyssey. He travels to Jupiter to investigate an alien artifact called the monolith that may have affected early human development on Earth. Bowman also appears in the sequel film and follow-on books.