Why is chocolate harmful to dogs?

Chocolate contains theobromine. Humans can metabolize it easily, but dogs do so much more slowly, which means it can build up to toxic levels in their system.

---

The toxic component of chocolate is theobromine. Not metabolized well by dogs, it builds up to toxic levels in their system.

---

In large enough amounts, chocolate and cocoa products can kill your dog. The toxic component of chocolate is theobromine. Humans easily metabolize theobromine, but dogs process it much more slowly, allowing it to build up to toxic levels in their system. You should never feed chocolate to your dog.