Why did pluto become a dwarf planet?

When new icy bodies like Pluto kept being discovered, astronomers realized that a line needed to be drawn. Pluto is much smaller. Its orbit is tilted much farther. It is not a gas giant, like Jupiter, or a rocky body, like Earth. Therefore a new group was formed called Dwarf Planet.