What are horses made of?

Horse hooves are made of a tough protein called keratin – the same stuff our nails and hair are made of. The keratin in a horse’s hoof is layered in horizontal sheets, in order to add strength and minimise the extent of any damage that could split the hoof irreparably in the event of a crack.