How do they grow cotton candy grapes?

Horticulturalist David Cain and his team at International Fruit Genetics in Bakersfield, California made the Cotton Candy grape by hybridizing two different grape species. So the designer fruit is actually a hybrid — like pluots, peacharines and cherums.