What was the name of the computer in two thousand one space odyssey?

The name of the computer in 2001: A Space Odyssey is HAL 9000. HAL stands for Heuristically Programmed ALgorithmic Computer. The HAL 9000 controls the system of the spacecraft Discovery One.