What is the cyclone used for?

In general, cyclones are used to collect particles greater than 10 micrometers in diameter and are sometimes referred to as "pre-cleaners", because they are often used to reduce the inlet loading of particulate matter to downstream collection devices by removing larger, abrasive particles.