Are soft potatoes still good?

University food extensions recommend that very soft, shriveled or wrinkled potatoes (with or without sprouts) should not be eaten. Potatoes that are slightly soft are safe to cook and eat. Firm potatoes with sprouts are edible. Green skinned potatoes should not be eaten; they are bitter.