What was the most devastating tsunami?

The most devastating and deadliest tsunami in recorded history occurred at 07:58:53 on December 26th, 2004, in the Indian Ocean. The tsunami had a death toll that reached over 230,000, affecting people in 14 countries – with Indonesia hit worst, followed by Sri Lanka, India, and Thailand.