Can fish smell stuff?

Although it may seem strange, fish actually have a very good sense of smell. Most fish species have very sensitive olfactory receptors, capable of detecting the presence of molecules in very low concentrations. Fish have one or two pairs of nostrils through which water flows into the nasal cavity.