Who is jem and the holograms?

Jem and the Holograms may refer to either the 2015 live action film or the animated series that ran from 1985 to 1988. Jem is the stage name used by Jerrica Benton and the Holograms were her band, made up of Kimber Benton, Aja Leith, Shana Elmsford, and later Carmen "Raya" Alonso.