Why do guinea pigs eat their own poop?

Guinea pigs do not consume all their poop, but produce special soft pellets which recycles B vitamins, fiber, and bacteria required for proper digestion.

---

Guinea pigs are coprophages which means that they eat their own feces to recover more of the nutrients originally contained in the food.