What's rice made of?

Rice grains grow on a rice plant, a grass. There are two species: Oryza glaberrima or Oryza sativa. Rice is primarily composed of carbohydrate, which makes up almost 80% of its total dry weight. Most of the carbohydrate in rice is starch (long chains of glucose called amylose and amylopectin).