How did chips ahoy get their name?

Nabisco says the name is, "a reference to the nautical term, Ships Ahoy!". The words "Chips Ahoy!" also feature prominently in a story appearing in Chapter 15 of The Uncommercial Traveller, by Charles Dickens.