Is an avocado a fruit or a vegetable?

Botanically, avocados are fruits because they have pits (like cherries or peaches). Nutritiously, though, they have more in common with vegetables.

---

Avocado is a fruit. More specifically, botanists define it as a large berry with a single seed.