How long does a poinsettia plant last?

Poinsettias may live for many years when cared for properly. However, they are challenging to grow for my novice caretakers. Poinsettias also develop their characteristic brightly colored bracts in response to photoperiod. This pattern of light and dark is often artificially produced.