What's the difference between a chive and a scallion?

Scallions are a type of onion with a small white base and hollow green stems above. Both white and green parts are used in cooking. Chives are not an onion, but a distinct herb. Only the green chive stems are used in cooking. Hollow stems of chives are also smaller in diameter than scallions.