What's the difference between chop suey and chow mein?

With chow mein, the noodles are cooked and added to the wok with other ingredients, cooking everything together in one pan. However, with a chop suey recipe, the noodles are cooked separately from the sauce and other ingredients and are combined in a bowl at serving time.