Why do cats put their ears back?

This cat is feeling nervous or anxious about something. Use caution around a cat whose ears are in this position. Ears back and flat against head – This is a sure sign a cat is scared and feeling defensive. Ears flat against the head may also indicate an angry or aggressive cat.