What happens when you inhale carbon dioxide?

Inhaling small quantities of carbon dioxide is not a problem. As the fraction increases, you'll feel fatigued or sleepy, which is usually only a problem in fires on earth or air crises in outer space.

---

A high concentration can displace oxygen in the air. If less oxygen is available to breathe, symptoms such as rapid breathing, rapid heart rate, clumsiness, emotional upsets and fatigue can result. As less oxygen becomes available, nausea and vomiting, collapse,convulsions, coma and death can occur.