Who invented earl gray tea?

Earl Grey blend, is assumed to be named after Charles Grey, 2nd Earl Grey, British Prime Minister in the 1830s. He reputedly received a gift, tea flavored with bergamont oil. The first known references to "Earl Grey" tea are advertisements by Charlton & Co. of Jermyn Street in London in the 1880s.