How many verses does a sonnet have?

There are 14 lines in a Shakespearean sonnet. The first 12 lines are divided into three quatrains with four lines each. In the three quatrains the poet establishes a theme or problem and then resolves it in the final two lines, called the couplet. The rhyme scheme of the quatrains is abab cdcd efef.