How to tell if need to change guitar string?

A few common signs that it’s time to change your guitar strings include: 1) if they sound dull or muted, 2) if they feel dirty or grimy, and 3) if they are frayed or broken. As a general rule, it is a good idea to change your guitar strings every few months, or more often if you play regularly.