What is the difference between quantro and triple sec?

Cointreau is a type of Triple Sec (a family of dry orange liqueurs). Triple Sec is both the name of a category and also refers to an inexpensive, lower quality orange liqueur. Cointreau has a stronger, smoother and more complex flavor vs Triple Sec.