What is the big freeze theory?

Observations suggest that the expansion of the universe will continue forever. A popular theory is that the universe will cool as it expands, eventually becoming too cold to sustain life. For this reason, this future scenario once called "Heat Death" is now known as the Big Chill or Big Freeze.