Why were fake eyelashes invented?

In 1911, a Canadian inventor named Anna Taylor patented artificial eyelashes. These were for two basic purposes: to make your own eyelashes look thicker and prettier, and to provide protection to your eyes if your own eyelashes aren't doing a good enough job.