How did andrea bocelli lose his eyesight?

It was immediately apparent at birth that Bocelli had poor eyesight and he was diagnosed with congenital glaucoma. Bocelli became permanently blind at the age of 12 after he was hit in his right eye during a football match while playing goalkeeper.