How long can a dolphin hold it's breath underwater?

The average dolphin species can stay underwater for as long as eight to 10 minutes; some can remain submerged while holding their breath for 15 minutes. Dolphins breathe through their blowhole, which has a muscular flap that covers it when they go under water, keeping water out of their lungs.

---

20 minutes

---

In average the dolphin can stay underwater for about 8 to 10 minutes with some being able to remain submerged for up to15 minutes. Dolphins as all other mammals including whales breathe using their lungs via the blowhole on top of their head covered by muscular flap to keep water out while diving.