Why is the sun set purple?

Because the sun is low on the horizon, sunlight passes through more air at sunset than during the day, when the sun is higher in the sky. More atmosphere means more molecules to scatter the violet and blue light away from your eyes. This is why sunsets are often yellow, orange, and red or purple.